This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

8.9 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
8.8
Property location
9.4
Facilities
8.5
Staff
9.0
Value
8.3
Reviews
    Dominic
    gb
    8.3
    20 February 2018
    Quiet, good location and reasonable price.
    There isn't anywhere in the main house to sit and relax so apart from breakfast we didn't go in there.
    We had a room in a separate annexe to the main house. The room was quite compact, however it was more than adequate for us as we didn't spend much time in the room. Beds were comfy and the room was clean.
    Simon
    nz
    7.9
    20 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jianhua
    gb
    7.9
    18 February 2018
    Good location apartment
    Heating is quite hot. Better switch them off before sleeping.
    The sofa bed was big and comfortable.
    Claire
    gb
    10
    16 February 2018
    Easy, comfortable and good value.
    Nothing.
    Heated floor in the bathroom! Fresh sheets and pillow chocolates. Tea and coffee facilities. Comfy bed. Great location.
    Elaine
    gb
    9.2
    16 February 2018
    Great place to stay.
    We would have liked some milk capsules in room to accompany tea and coffee facilities.
    Location on property is excellent for exploring. Its proximity to bus station also ideal.
    Leilani
    gb
    10
    15 February 2018
    Perfect location
    Communication is great, responds promptly... We’ve stayed in the apartments for 3 nights. It was warm and cosy when we arrived @ 10pm with instructions on the door on how to get to our apartments. Well equipped with everything we needed in the kitchenette to prepare food and drinks. Cleaned everyday with lots of fresh towels... Within easy walking distance to bsi bus terminal where tours starts from... town, harpa, harbour and church are all within easy walking distance... Hosts were friendly. Pet dog and cat were lovely... will definitely use again if ever we go back to Iceland and recommend to friends
    Emma
    gb
    10
    13 February 2018
    Perfect location in Reykjavik, about a 10 min walk to the main town/restaurants/pubs. We arrived late on a Thursday night and was directed with signs with my name on it to my room which was perfect. Exactly what you want in a guesthouse; somewhere clean, comfortable with a great location. The owner was very helpful with directions and pointing out places we should go. Would definitely recommend as a base for Reykjavik!
    Rebecca Edge
    gb
    8.8
    13 February 2018
    Great location in a comfortable room
    Our room was rather small - it was fine for a few nights but not much storage. Not attached to the main house so a bit removed from interaction with others
    Great location - 5 minutes from the church, less than 10 from the main shopping street & bars. Room was lovely and warm during the worst blizzard all winter Very comfy bed Free parking
    Teet
    ee
    9.6
    12 February 2018
    Guesthouse with friendly staff, historic building.
    Room was quite small, but still comfortable.
    Friendly staff, historic building, good location
    Kathleen
    ie
    8.8
    11 February 2018
    Great location and good value for money overall
    Very good location close to central bus station, the city centre and restaurants etc. Plenty of space in apartment and was very comfortable for chilling out.
    Cameron
    gb
    10
    11 February 2018
    I have stayed here previously so for this trip this accommodation was my first choice
    Bobs
    gb
    9.6
    11 February 2018
    Quiet location, super clean room, friendly staff, always warm and cosy!
    The cat! Our room was separate from the main house and was very clean and cosy.
    Lisa
    gb
    10
    9 February 2018
    Lovely, fully equipped & far larger than expected. Location excellent for BSI bus station & easy walk to town centre. Would definitely stay here again.
    John
    ie
    8.8
    9 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Amalia
    gb
    10
    8 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Patrik
    at
    9.2
    5 February 2018
    Very well location.. Tidy... Nice owner
    Jennifer
    gb
    6.2
    29 January 2018
    Good location but small room
    The room we stayed in was small and there was limited room to store clothes or have the suitcase out which made the stay a bit stressful with two people trying to get ready and move around. We didn’t meet the hosts at any stage.
    Comfy bed and sheets/ towels sorted daily. Great location, free road parking and short walk to most places.
    Barbara
    gb
    9.6
    26 January 2018
    Extremely interesting and enjoyable short break enhanced by the excellent accommodation.
    A bit too cold at times in the wind - but not something Galtafell could do anything about!
    We were given a spacious apartment which we hadn't expected. It was warm and cosy and very clean and with a bathroom we'd like to have at home! Good choice of TV channels and a TV in the bedroom. Breakfast was well worth the extra cost (eating out is rather pricey) served in a large dining room in the main house and including cereals, meat and cheeses plus fruit, juice, breads and of course teas & coffee. The location is a short walk from the old town but an easy one (in spite of the ice) and very handy for both the central BSI bus station and Hallgrimskirkja church which are both pick up points for tours.
    Gemma
    gb
    8.3
    24 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Alice
    gb
    9.6
    24 January 2018
    Loved our stay here, highly recommend
    Unfortunately the shower was out of order, there was a shower-head above the bath but no shower curtain which meant I kept getting water on the floor which was a shame
    The room was absolutely perfect, the chocolate with the towels was a really nice touch too. The hosts are lovely and very helpful. The resident cat and dog are very affectionate and we often had a cat on our bed when welcomed in. The tea/coffee was always great to have after being out in the cold.
Loading reviews
Close