This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

8.9 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
8.8
Property location
9.4
Facilities
8.5
Staff
9.1
Value
8.3
Reviews
    Linsey
    gb
    7.5
    16 January 2018
    A little far out of town, and no views from windows which were high up. Although this is not what we came for so did t spoil our trip
    Room was very warm and shower excellent. Breakfast was good and staff friendly and knowledgable
    id
    7.5
    15 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb
    10
    10 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    paige
    gb
    8.8
    10 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb
    10
    8 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ben
    gb
    9.6
    6 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Shijia
    cn
    10
    3 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Robert
    gb
    10
    30 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Virginia
    ca
    8.3
    30 December 2017
    Very comfortable accommodation in a great location but expensive even for Iceland
    Housekeeping was a bit slap dash - taps etc in bathroom not wiped; someone's long black hairs remained. Unused towels were changed but dirty cups were left.
    We could access our room directly from outside on the street level - no stairs which was great. Kettle with selection of tea and coffee was a comforting touch. Lots of heaters so cozy - especially in the bathroom with the heated towel rack. The room was very clean and modern. The neighbourhood is quiet & beautiful (two embassies down the street); a short walk to restaurants, museums and shops in the centre of the city.
    Miao Ling Chung
    sg
    7.9
    24 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Eleni
    fi
    9.2
    22 December 2017
    Comfortable and clean accommodation in a beautiful residential area with great value for money
    Here a few minor remarks which did not actually affect our overall stay and satisfaction to a great degree but which could be considered in the efforts to constantly improve and be hospitable. Although our communication before the arrival was fluent and very good, we were a bit surprised by the welcoming process. Upon arrival we knocked on the door and the hosts greeted us but instead of accompanying us to our room and exchanging a few words with us, they explained that our key and basic info are hanging in a folio outside that main entrance door that we had knocked and that our flat is in the yard, on the side of the main building. Nothing wrong with having the essentials hanging out the door but personally I find important the first moment one meets with the guests/hosts. Devoting a few minutes to show the room /premise and explain the practicalities in person does make a difference. It felt a bit awkward to me to arrive around 17.30 in the day and be expected to take our key and find our way by ourselves based on the written instructions. Maybe the hosts were busy at the moment of our arrival, this we couldn't know, but our first impression was a bit different than what we expected. On the other hand, in our next short visit, a day before our departure, to inquire about the check-out practicalities we were welcomed nicely. Also, the cleaning lady who we encountered once during our stay was super nice! The flat we got in the side part of the complex, outside the main building, was not as described in the pictures. While reserving, we had noticed the "warning" that the images are not necessarily matching to what the guests will get and that was alright. The general condition of the flat was actually good and especially the bathroom was brand new, probably renovated recently.
    My husband and I spent 6 wintery nights at the Guesthouse Galtafell. The property is housed in a heritage-listed building located in a beautiful residential area only a short walk away from both the BSI bus terminal that connects to the airport and the city centre. Thus, it has been very convenient for us to move around having Galtafell as our base. The flat was spacious and very clean. The only dusty part were a few high points in the living room's wooden walls. The kitchen was well equipped. The living room had a large TV which we actually never use at home or in our trips but we thought it would make a great screen for watching films. Although we could do with re-using our towels for a few days, fresh ones were brought in every day. We didn't have breakfast included in our reservation but the setting for the breakfast and the selection in the main building seemed to be pretty nice ones. The bed and pillows were super comfortable and clean. The internet connection and speed were great! The flat was reasonably priced and in Reykjavik this is really a rare find!
    Josh
    au
    10
    21 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb
    10
    18 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb
    10
    15 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Peter
    nl
    7.1
    14 December 2017
    Small but well located rooms
    The room was not very clean, unfortunately. And very small.
    Great location and free parking. Also, the guesthouse itself looks really nice on the outside and on the inside. But as we were staying in the former garage, we did not get to see it until we checked out.
    Jaime Cooke
    au
    10
    13 December 2017
    Perfect stay in Reykjavik!
    The guesthouse has a wonderful welcoming feel. The hosts are all marvelous and put on a good hearty breakfast each morning. The location is perfect only 1 or 2 blocks from Hallgrimskirkja and the BSI bus station.
    Daan F.
    nl
    8.8
    8 December 2017
    Tower room in residential neighbourhood in the centre of Reykjavik.
    It's quite complicated to get to the bathroom, which is shared - the shower was out of order.
    The view from the room is beautiful, you feel like in a palace.
    Michelle Folliard
    gb
    9.6
    7 December 2017
    Great location, clean and good value.
    Brilliant location, within walking distance to bus terminal and city centre. Our room was small but cosy and clean, ans especially good value for Reykjavik!
    gb
    10
    7 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Elena
    gb
    5.8
    6 December 2017
    Comfortable
    The cleaning level - poor
    Location
Loading reviews
Close